Palu tsunami

The recent Palu earthquake and tsunami that followed will definitely raise the issue of tsunami warnings. The Indonesian official responsible for warnings (BMKG, The Meteorology, Climatology and Geophysics Agency) followed standard operations procedure and ended the tsunami warning. Why? The sensor, 200 km away from the Palu showed only 6 cm wave.

We will learn probably sometimes later, whether the tsunami wave already had passed the sensor at 200 km, or whether it arrived there after the warning was already lifted. Anyway, this incident will help the officials to improve the warning system efficiency.

About romomurphy

I gained my PhD at the Department of Communications at the University of Jyväskylä. I did my licentiate on the historical development of Mongolia. However, my doctoral thesis was a completely different topic. It is about disaster preparedness in vulnerable areas of Indonesia. My research interests continue with the media in Asia and South Asia.
This entry was posted in disaster communication. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment