A matter of education and communication

Research studies suggest also that disaster education is necessary to create an awareness and readiness for action at the time of disaster, and that mass media messages are related to how people behave in disaster situations (Nozawa et. al. 2008, Seid-Aliyeva, 2006). This website approaches the matter of disaster preparedness from an educational and from a communications point of view. As a communications researcher myself, I acknowledge the importance of using media to inform and educate, and thereby build an overall public awareness and preparedness which can save lives in the event of a disaster situation.

About romomurphy

I gained my PhD at the Department of Communications at the University of Jyväskylä. I did my licentiate on the historical development of Mongolia. However, my doctoral thesis was a completely different topic. It is about disaster preparedness in vulnerable areas of Indonesia. My research interests continue with the media in Asia and South Asia.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A matter of education and communication

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

    Like

Leave a comment