Mount Merapi

While visiting Yogyakarta, Indonesia this summer, I had a chance to visit the museum of Mount Merapi. It is located at the foot of the vulcano called Merapi. It is one the Indonesia most active volcanos today. I learnt one interesting thing during my visit to the museum: Nyai Gadung Melati. She is the leader of the mystic army residing the mountain of Merapi.  She is also the protector of the vegetation in the region. Melati makes her appearance in residents’ dreams the night before the volcano erupts. Melati is dressed in yasmin green outfit.

About romomurphy

I gained my PhD at the Department of Communications at the University of Jyväskylä. I did my licentiate on the historical development of Mongolia. However, my doctoral thesis was a completely different topic. It is about disaster preparedness in vulnerable areas of Indonesia. My research interests continue with the media in Asia and South Asia.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment