Debate experience

It was at first scary. Then I saw the Christmas tree in the University Hall. It lifted my spirit. Also the Bible verses near the ceiling, and seeing my family, me relatives, friends. The lectio precursio was easy, since I had practised it at home. After that, the Opponent’s questions. At first easy, then follows more difficult one – about the definitions of crisis and risk. My mind went blank. All pink slips in my dissertation pages disappeared. I answered based on my data, as my professor had suggested.

The time went slow. More questions. My voice started to go down. My throat was dry. Then stood up, to listen to the final evaluation. Passed! Joy! I recommend this to anybody. Finish your dissertation. It feels so good to have it done.

About romomurphy

I gained my PhD at the Department of Communications at the University of Jyväskylä. I did my licentiate on the historical development of Mongolia. However, my doctoral thesis was a completely different topic. It is about disaster preparedness in vulnerable areas of Indonesia. My research interests continue with the media in Asia and South Asia.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment